Family history

Boreal luxuriousness

Welcome into the universe of the Fjord Distillery, Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean’s very first distillery. We get our inspiration from our surroundings to create unique spirits, crafted in a traditional way, which reflects our local boreal richness. We are a family owned business and we are very proud to share with you our ambitious project. Our goal; to live with you an authentic experience of pure pleasure. Situated in Saint-David-de-Falardeau, at the foot of the Monts-Valin, the distillery is in the heart of a boreal garden where flows a natural water source of an incredible pureness.

This equation results in the very high quality of our products to which we add our entrepreneurial spirit, energy and passion.

Serge will tell you about the legend of the 5-generation “gin lovers”.

Joseph Bouchard

First gin lover generation

According to what we were told, it was our great grandfather Joseph who first initiated our family to the happiness of drinking a good gin. During the last years of his life, my father, Joseph’s grandson, went every week to the liquor store to buy him his gin bottle. This green shaded bottle with the red heart, which still lies around today in many families’ liquor cabinets.

Serge will tell you about the legend of the 5-generation “gin lovers”.

Aurèle Bouchard

Second gin lover generation

I knew my grandfather Aurèle well. He was very resourceful. He operated a cooler for over a decade, hence his nickname “Ice Bouchard”. He invented a saw to cut through the thick Lac-Saint-Jean ice, which had a diameter of 4 feet! According to what one of my uncles told us, Aurèle too was a gin lover. He had invented his own alembic made from pieces of copper pipes and vessels. My grandfather would set up his cauldron on the stove in the basement while my grandmother would put up newspapers in the windows, because she didn’t particularly like this “not so legal” hobby of his.

Serge will tell you about the legend of the 5-generation “gin lovers”.

Bertrand Bouchard

Third gin lover generation

My father, Bertrand, was also a gin lover. He mostly drank Beefeater gin with 7-up or Tanqueray for special occasions. He was quite resourceful as well. He repaired snowmobiles and mastered wood as much as plumbing. 56 jobs like we used to say. I remember when he started making moonshine every fall. He said it was to have some fun during the holidays. Cereal mash in a big barrel, magic bubbles that lasted 10 days and then, he would take out from nowhere his famous antique cast iron cauldron, which was slightly modified. He settled on his Coleman stove in the basement, and me, as a kid, I would spy on him through the stair rails. I didn’t realize at that time, that these illicit, but pleasant elixir aromas would soak up in me and motivate me to pursue on this road with my sons and with great passion, but this time legally. “ Salutations, Bert!”

Serge will tell you about the legend of the 5-generation “gin lovers”.

Serge, Jean-Philippe and Benoît

Fourth and fifth gin lover generation

My sons, Jean-Philippe and Benoit, once told me “ Hey dad, lets make some gin.” I then told them a story that was still a secret to this day. The idea rapidly became a concrete project. Jean-Philippe, with his entrepreneurial spirit, Benoit, with his chemist thoroughness, and myself, Serge, the retired dad, with my industrial experience. We have worked hard to implement the very first micro distillery in Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean, in order to produce the best gins using our own local boreal richness. Our ancestors inspired us to value and appreciate gin. Today, we are very happy to produce it, legally, and to share our passion and the uniqueness of our products with all the gin lovers.

It’s to live the boreal experience in its pure state

Benoît Bouchard

When my sons talked to me about the gin project, I then told them a story. The legend of the 5-generation gin lovers

Serge Bouchard

It’s when all the team members put in the necessary energy that the impossible can be achieved. We are gin lovers, and we wanted to craft the best gin possible

Jean-Philippe Bouchard

At the 12th kilometer on Mont-Valin road, flows a natural water source of an incredible pureness. It is in the heart of this wild environment that the flora reveals all its richness. Inspired by this nature and distilled in small batches at the Fjord Distillery, the Km12 gin will carry you into an authentic boreal experience. You will feel yourself embraced by forest scents, quickened by the natural water source and above all, enjoy the present moment.

-Bouchard family-

Tasting notes

Mere, on the rocks or in a Gin and Tonic, our gin distinguishes itself with its liveliness and its freshness originating from spicy aromas, emanations of fir shoots and subtle floral hints. It’s like taking a walk in the forest on a spring morning. The Km12 boreal gin will allow you to live the authentic boreal experience.

San Francisco World Spirit Competition

2017

SFWSC is one of the best-known spirit competitions internationally and in the industry. The gold medal is awarded to the product that reflects success and defines the standards.

Be part of our history

Contact us

Richesse de la forêt boréale

Histoire de famille

Bienvenue dans l’univers de la Distillerie du Fjord, toute première distillerie au Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean. Nous nous inspirons de ce qui nous entoure pour créer des spiritueux uniques, fabriqués de manière artisanale et qui reflètent la richesse de la forêt boréale de chez nous. Nous sommes une entreprise familiale qui est fière de vous partager son ambitieux projet. Notre objectif, vivre avec vous une expérience de plaisir. Située à Saint-David-de-Falardeau, au pied des Monts-Valin, la Distillerie est en plein cœur du jardin boréal où s’écoule une eau de source d’une pureté incroyable.

Cela a comme résultat la très grande qualité de nos produits à laquelle nous ajoutons notre esprit entrepreneurial et notre passion.

Serge vous raconte la légende des 5 générations « d’amateurs de gin »

Joseph Bouchard

Première génération d’amateurs de gin

Selon ce qui nous a été raconté, ce serait notre arrière-grand-père Joseph qui nous aurait initiés au bonheur de boire un bon gin. Durant les dernières années de sa vie, mon père, le petit-fils de Joseph, allait, toutes les semaines, lui chercher sa bouteille de gin à la Commission des liqueurs, cette bouteille verte avec le cœur rouge qui traine encore dans les armoires de nombreuses familles.

Serge vous raconte la légende des 5 générations « d’amateurs de gin »

Aurèle Bouchard

Deuxième génération d’amateurs de gin

J’ai bien connu Aurèle, mon grand-père. C’était un « patenteux » comme on dit. Il a opéré une glacière pendant plus d’une décennie, de là notre surnom de « Bouchard la glace ». Il avait inventé une scie pour couper la glace du Lac-Saint-Jean avec une lame de 4 pieds de diamètre! Selon ce qui nous a été raconté par l’un de mes oncles, Aurèle aussi était amateur de gin et il aurait « patenté » son propre alambic à partir de « vaisseaux et de bouts de tuyau de cuivre ». Mon grand-père installait son chaudron sur le poêle dans le sous-sol et ma grand-mère mettait de la « gazette » dans les vitres, car elle n’aimait pas particulièrement ce passe-temps pas très « réglo ».

Serge vous raconte la légende des 5 générations « d’amateurs de gin »

Bertrand Bouchard

Troisième génération d’amateurs de gin

Mon père, Bertrand, était lui aussi un amateur de gin. Il buvait surtout du Beefeater/Seven Up ou du Tanqueray lors des grandes occasions. Il était un « patenteux » lui aussi. Il réparait les « Ski Doo » et maîtrisait autant le bois que la plomberie. 56 métiers comme on disait. Je me rappelle lorsqu’il se lançait dans la fabrication de « baboche » à l’automne. Il disait que c’était pour avoir un peu de fun durant les Fêtes. Moût de céréales dans un gros baril de bois, des bulles magiques qui duraient 10 jours et ensuite, il sortait de nulle part sa fameuse « chesspinte en stainless » légèrement modifiée. Il l’installait sur son poêle Coleman dans le sous-sol et moi, enfant, je l’espionnais à travers les marches de l’escalier. Je ne réalisais pas à cette époque que les arômes agréables de cet élixir illicite s’imprégnaient en moi et me motiveraient à vouloir poursuivre dans ce chemin avec passion, avec mes fils, mais cette fois en toute légalité. « Salut, mon Bert! »

Serge vous raconte la légende des 5 générations « d’amateurs de gin »

Serge, Jean-Philippe et Benoît

Quatrième et cinquième génération d’amateurs de gin

Mes fils, Jean-Philippe et Benoît, m’ont dit un jour: « Et Pa! On se fait du gin ». Je leur ai ensuite parlé d’une histoire qui était encore tenue secrète. L’idée est rapidement passée à un projet concret. Jean-Philippe, avec son âme d’entrepreneur, Benoît, avec sa rigueur de chimiste et moi, Serge, le père, retraité, avec mon expérience industrielle. Oui, nous avons travaillé fort à mettre en œuvre la 1re micro-distillerie au Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean dans le but de produire les meilleurs gins en utilisant la richesse de la forêt boréale locale. Nos ancêtres nous ont inspirés pour apprécier le gin. Aujourd’hui, nous sommes heureux de le produire, en toute légalité, et nous partageons notre passion et le caractère unique de nos produits avec tous les amateurs.

C’est vivre l’expérience de la forêt boréale à son état pur

Benoît Bouchard

Lorsque mes garçons m’ont parlé du projet de gin, je leur ai alors raconté une histoire, celle des 5 générations d’amateur de gin

Serge Bouchard

C’est lorsque tous les membres d’une équipe mettent l’énergie nécessaire que l’impossible se réalise. Nous étions des amateurs de gin et nous voulions fabriquer le meilleur!

Jean-Philippe Bouchard

Au kilomètre 12 du chemin des Monts-Valin, s’écoule une eau de source naturelle d’une pureté incroyable. C’est en plein cœur de cet environnement sauvage que la flore nous révèle toute sa richesse. Inspiré de cette nature et distillé en petits lots à la Distillerie du Fjord, le gin Km12 vous fera vivre une authentique expérience de la forêt boréale. Vous serez enveloppés par les arômes forestiers, vivifiés par l’eau de source et surtout, vous profiterez du moment présent.

La famille Bouchard 

Vérifiez l’inventaire à jour de Km12 dans votre succursale SAQ préférée en cliquant ici

OU

Commandez en ligne en ajoutant l’article à votre panier virtuel et recevez-là à la maison ou en succursale!

Notes de dégustations

Pur, sur glace ou encore dans un Gin Tonic, notre gin se démarquera par sa vivacité et par sa fraîcheur provenant des arômes épicés, des effluves de pousses de sapin et de subtiles notes florales. C’est comme prendre une marche en forêt lors d’un matin de printemps. Le gin Km12 vous permettra de vivre l’authentique expérience de la forêt boréale.

San Francisco world spirits compétition

2017

SFWSC est l’une des compétitions de spiritueux les plus reconnues à l’international et dans l’industrie. La médaille d’or est remise au produit qui reflète la réussite et qui définit les standards.

Fais partie de
notre histoire

Nous joindre